[rev_slider alias=”canada-homepage”]

The Academy for Peace and Justice

Built on a seven-acre campus in the capital of Port-Au-Prince, the Academy is the largest secondary school of its kind in Haiti. Born out of the aftermath of the 2010 earthquake, it has grown annually and is now at full enrollment offering a secondary education to more than 3,500 students. The Academy is unique in seeking out some of the city’s most struggling and deserving youth, providing them with a middle and high school education. This truly is exceptional since most children in Haiti do not attend school past the 5th grade.

APJ Festival Gala (Toronto)

The APJ Festival Gala has taken place during the Toronto International Film Festival for the last 14 years​ and has raised over $33 Million dollars for The Academy in Haiti. A special part of the evening is dedicated to honouring individuals who have demonstrated a lifetime of peace and social justice activism and the remarkable ​philanthropic ​contributions of some of Canada’s most inspiring people.

APJ Gala in Montreal

The first Gala took place in Montreal in June, 2019 during the Montreal Grand Prix Weekend. Funds raised supported Artists for Peace and Justice and The KANPE Foundation.

Meet the Minds Behind

  • Board of Directors

    APJ Canada Board of Directors
    • Natasha Koifman, President
    • Suzanne Boyd
    • Joanne Bull, Secretary
    • Sholeh Fabbri
    • Carrie Kirkman
    • Rose Mantella
    • Kardinal Offishall
    • George Stroumboulopoulos, Treasurer

  • Advisory Board

    • Dr. Bob Arnot
    • Simon Baker
    • Javier Bardem
    • Todd Barrato
    • Maria Bello
    • Alixe Boyer
    • Jeff Bridges
    • Adrien Brody
    • Josh Brolin
    • Pierce Brosnan
    • Jackson Browne
    • Gerard Butler
    • Jim Clark
    • Chuck Close
    • Daniel Craig
    • Jessica Craig-Martin
    • Russell Crowe
    • Penelope Cruz
    • David Daniels
    • Mary Demetree
      • Clint Eastwood
      • Dina Eastwood
      • Mark Evans
      • Johan Ernst Nilson
      • Shepard Fairey
      • Amanda Fairey
      • The Duchess of York, Sarah Ferguson
      • Frances Fisher
      • Jane Fonda
      • Dr. Henri Ford
      • James Franco
      • Cuba Gooding Jr.
      • Kristy Hinze
      • Jimmy Jean-Louis
      • Milla Jovovich
      • Nicole Kidman
      • Ryan Kavanaugh
      • Diane Lane
      • Jude Law
      • Maxwell
    • AnnaLynne McCord
    • David Mimran
    • Pascal Raffy
    • Hari Ravichandran
    • Rebecca Rigg
    • Martha Rogers
    • Susan Sarandon
    • Namrata Shroff
    • Vikram Shroff
    • Lekha Singh
    • Michael Stahl-David
    • Caroline Stanbury
    • Ben Stiller
    • Charlize Theron
    • Carlo Traglio
    • Peter Tunney
    • Amy Tunney
    • Keith Urban
    • Jonathan Vilma
    • Craig Watson

  • Ambassadors

    • Moran Atias
    • Douglas Bensadoun
    • Victoria Bousis
    • Matthew Cherchio
    • Roger Edwards
    • Kathryn Everett
    • Daya Fernandez
    • Madalina Ghenea
    • Gisella Marengo
    • Lola Schnabel
    • Eileen Greene